Selection 2019

Small Gauge Trauma 2019

147 mins 9 films Australia, USA, Estonia, United Kingdom, Netherlands, Belgium, Ireland, France
Wed July 24, 2019
9:35 PM

Salle J.A. De Sève

Fantasia’s annual showcase of cutting-edge international genre shorts returns with nine uncompromising visions of the fantastic from eight countries that will haunt your nightmares.

Australia’s Gemma Lee brings the startling BEDTIME (International Premiere), the story of a single mother trying to isolate the source of mysterious bruises appearing on her son’s body.

Netherlands filmmaker Nico van den Brink (SWEET TOOTH) returns to Fantasia with the occult nightmare THE BURDEN (World Premiere), a film so striking it’s already been licensed by James Wan and Sam Raimi for a major feature adaptation.

A man (PEAKY BLINDERS’ Paul Bullion) and his dog have an unexpected encounter in the woods in British filmmaker Chris Cronin’s white-knuckle frightening OSCAR’S BELL (Quebec Premiere), a paralyzing award-winner across the circuit.

From the USA, a self-described “hospice worker” who euthanizes the terminally ill with friends for uniquely personal reasons finds herself struggling with her choices in Leland Montgomery’s melancholic and beguiling BLACK CAT IN A DARK ROOM (Canadian Premiere).

A biohazard remediation expert who mostly cleans up after suicides and murders finds herself in an uncomfortable place when her new hire shows a little too much of a taste for the job in Ryan Oksenberg’s grotesquely unsettling TOGETHER (North American Premiere), his return to Fantasia following last year’s DAMAGE CONTROL.

Estonia brings the strange in Oskar Lehemaa’s outlandish body horror creation BAD HAIR (International Premiere), the story of a mid-30’s man who has an especially terrible evening after massaging an experimental hair growth solution into his scalp.

From Ireland, Ian Hunt Duffy’s atmospheric and disturbing LOW TIDE (North American Premiere) is a different stripe of coming-of-age tale, one that brims with salt water and transformative fear. Duffy has a project at Frontieres, and this film is a testament to his distinctive storytelling talents.

Belgium delivers Jasper Vrancken’s MUIL (Canadian Premiere), the kink-charged story of a male resting home nurse who submits to an all-consuming vore fetish with distinctly Barker-esque consequences. Winner of 10 awards (and counting!) on the international festival circuit.

Finally, France brings us Geordy Couturiau’s intimately haunting LUCIENNE EATS A CAR (Canadian Premiere) in which a young woman consumed with grief takes to devouring the car that her father appeared to love more than her. A compellingly vivid psychodrama that takes place somewhere between the anguished universes of Cronenberg and de Van. – Mitch Davis

Bedtime

Gemma Lee

Australia 6 mins

Black Cat in a Dark Room

Leland Montgomery

After years of helping euthanize the terminally ill, a “hospice worker” begins to question the ethics of her job.

USA 15 mins

Together

Ryan Oksenberg

A biohazard remediation cleaner finds the integrity of her business threatened after hiring a technician with an insatiable appetite for his work.

USA 19 mins

Bad Hair

Oskar Lehemaa

Insecure and balding Leo has closed himself in his apartment. A mysterious hair growth liquid arrives at his doorstep and Leo uses it to fix up his looks. The liquid causes a series of grotesque metamorpho...

Estonia 15 mins

Oscar's Bell

Chris Cronin

Duncan (Paul Bullion, Peaky Blinders) and his dog Oscar have gone on their weekly camping trip into the wilderness together. However, when Duncan looks out into the woods, something else looks back.

United Kingdom 12 mins

The Burden

Nico Van den Brink

A young woman visits her boyfriend’s family home and learns about a sinister history with his creepy neighbor. Soon, all kinds of skeletons come out of the closet.

Netherlands 17 mins

Maw

Jasper Vrancken

Richard (Matthieu Sys) works as a male nurse in a rest home. For the people around him, he tries to hide an unusual phantasy…or should we say fetish… Richard suffers from vorarephilia: he is sexually arous...

Belgium 20 mins

Low Tide

Ian Hunt Duffy

Ireland 14 mins

Lucienne eats a car

Geordy Couturiau

France 30 mins

Showings

Wed July 24, 2019
9:35 PM

Salle J.A. De Sève

Sélection 2019

Small Gauge Trauma 2019

147 mins 9 films Australie, États-Unis, Estonie, Royaume-Uni, Pays-Bas, Belgique, Irlande, France
mer. 24 juillet 2019
21:35

Salle J.A. De Sève

L’anthologie annuelle de courts métrages internationaux avant-gardistes de Fantasia est de retour avec neuf visions fantastiques sans compromis originaires de huit pays, qui hanteront longtemps vos cauchemars.

D’Australie, Gemma Lee nous présente le saisissant BEDTIME (première internationale), l’histoire d’une mère monoparentale tentant d’isoler la source d’ecchymoses mystérieuses apparaissant sur le corps de son fils.

Le cinéaste néerlandais Nico van den Brink (SWEET TOOTH) revient à Fantasia avec le cauchemar occulte THE BURDEN (première mondiale), un film tellement impressionnant que James Wan et Sam Raimi préparent déjà une adaptation en long métrage.

Un homme (Paul Bullion de PEAKY BLINDERS) et son chien font une rencontre inattendue dans les bois dans le terrifiant OSCAR’S BELL (première québécoise) du cinéaste britannique Chris Cronin, qui a remporté des prix à travers le circuit des festivals.

Des États-Unis, une « travailleuse d’hospice » qui euthanasie les malades en phase terminale pour des raisons uniquement personnelles remet en question ses choix dans le mélancolique BLACK CAT IN A DARK ROOM (première canadienne) de Leland Montgomery.

Une experte des biorisques qui nettoye surtout les scènes de suicide et de meurtre se retrouve dans une situation inconfortable quand la nouvelle personne qu’elle a engagée semble trop aimer ce travail dans le grotesque et déstabilisant TOGETHER (première nord-américaine) de Ryan Oksenberg, qui effectue un retour à Fantasia après y avoir présenté DAMAGE CONTROL l’an dernier.

L’Estonie nous offre l’étrange création d’horreur corporelle BAD HAIR (première internationale) d’Oskar Lehemaa, l’histoire d’un trentenaire qui passe une soirée terrible après avoir mis une substance expérimentale pour faire pousser les cheveux sur son scalp.

D’Irlande, l’atmosphérique et troublant LOW TIDE (première nord-américaine) d’Ian Hunt Duffy est un récit initiatique atypique, qui baigne dans l’eau salée et la peur transformatrice. Duffy a un projet avec Frontières, et ce film témoigne de son talent distinctif pour raconter des histoires.

La Belgique livre MUIL (première canadienne) de Jasper Vrancken, l’histoire d’un infirmier dans une maison de repos qui s’abandonne à un fétiche ayant des conséquences Barker-esques. Gagnant de 10 prix (à date!) sur le circuit international des festivals.

Enfin, de la France nous arrive l’envoûtant et intime LUCIENNE EATS A CAR (première canadienne) de Geordy Couturiau, dans lequel une jeune femme en deuil entreprend de dévorer la voiture que son père semblait aimer plus qu’elle. Un psychodrame fascinant qui se déroule quelque part entre les univers angoissants de Cronenberg et de Van. – Traduction : Kevin Laforest

Bedtime

Gemma Lee

Australie 6 mins

Black Cat in a Dark Room

Leland Montgomery

Des États-Unis, une « travailleuse d’hospice » qui euthanasie les malades en phase terminale pour des raisons uniquement personnelles remet en question ses choix dans le mélancolique BLACK CAT IN A DARK RO...

États-Unis 15 mins

Together

Ryan Oksenberg

Une experte des biorisques qui nettoye surtout les scènes de suicide et de meurtre se retrouve dans une situation inconfortable quand la nouvelle personne qu’elle a engagée semble trop aimer ce travail dan...

États-Unis 19 mins

Bad Hair

Oskar Lehemaa

L’Estonie nous offre l’étrange création d’horreur corporelle BAD HAIR (première internationale) d’Oskar Lehemaa, l’histoire d’un trentenaire qui passe une soirée terrible après avoir mis une substance expé...

Estonie 15 mins

Oscar's Bell

Chris Cronin

Un homme (Paul Bullion de PEAKY BLINDERS) et son chien font une rencontre inattendue dans les bois dans le terrifiant OSCAR’S BELL (première québécoise) du cinéaste britannique Chris Cronin, qui a remporté...

Royaume-Uni 12 mins

The Burden

Nico Van den Brink

Le cinéaste néerlandais Nico van den Brink (SWEET TOOTH) revient à Fantasia avec le cauchemar occulte THE BURDEN (première mondiale), un film tellement impressionnant que James Wan et Sam Raimi préparent d...

Pays-Bas 17 mins

Maw

Jasper Vrancken

La Belgique livre MUIL (première canadienne) de Jasper Vrancken, l’histoire d’un infirmier dans une maison de repos qui s’abandonne à un fétiche ayant des conséquences Barker-esques. Gagnant de 10 prix (à ...

Belgique 20 mins

Low Tide

Ian Hunt Duffy

Irlande 14 mins

Lucienne eats a car

Geordy Couturiau

France 30 mins

Représentations

mer. 24 juillet 2019
21:35

Salle J.A. De Sève